Metropolis 5 Minute – Process

Introduction

This task is to support the process of the sound design work I have been doing for my sound design task of this sound module. I have been asked to take a 5 minute sequence out of the movie Metropolis and add my own sound design to it. I need to add 50% of my own sound design i.e. my own recordings and scores and 50% from other sources like downloaded music and sound effects.
In this task you will see the work I have done in recording i.e. the work of Folley; you will see my process in a 5.1 sound edit and also other techniques and processes I feel have made an impact with in the project.

5.1 Sound Set-up
Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.29.05

Premiere pro has it’s own setting for 5.1 sound and the above picture shows my settings. Noticed you can add a number of tracks and the track type can be changed from stereo to 5.1.

 

Using Recorded sounds

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.15.53

I now had a number of recorded sounds that were available for my project. I recorded at a sample rate of 96htz, the reason for this is to ensure I am working with large file types. Files need to be large and full of information as most sounds that you work with will be processed meaning the amount of information will be divided at a fixed rate. They will also be corected or manipulated which causes the sample to compress and loose informaton and any sound effects made active will add as a compression in it’s own right.
 All sounds recorded were recorded using a X – Y stereo pick-up Zoom Mic.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.08.42

Work Flow

The Image below shows a list of samples I have accumilated together neatly in bins with names labled to their nature. I all have my own voice recording on the start of every sample telling me the positioning and timing of when the sample should come in. 

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.04.31

Timing

Some samples were not as easy as just putting them into the sequence on the time line, you needed the sounds to be running on correct time as many of the samples were not recorded to the video meaning that it would, on some part be an issue in my post production. The drill proved to be the most difficult to work with as the power would steadly increase before the drilled reached an optimal ‘hum’. The idea of speeding up the sample in key parts was would not work as the tone would change and would not time with the action of the video.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.01.01

Sample Numbers

The number of samples steadily increased to my project and most sounds would need to keep to its orignal placement as they would need there own editing an

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 12.10.04

Volume

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 12.20.55

Edit

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 12.36.29

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 15.59.10

Recorded Sounds

Screen Shot 2014-01-08 at 11.56.23

Screen Shot 2014-01-08 at 10.10.51

This entry was posted in Sound Design Module. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

